“Pizza” and Doom” …A Solution!

Standard

I made two mini pizzas tonight and shared them with my friend.

In part, they were noteworthy because they were too delicious to bother taking a break from chewing to run all the way upstairs to get the camera. And, secondly, they were healthy.

Now, I’ve never considered my kind of pizza particularly unhealthy, (they almost always have veggies, pesto, and a thin-ish crust) but these were truly in a class by themselves. I could gladly eat them two or three times a week and feel happy and proud. Now, don’t knock it ’till you’ve tried it…

Imagine: 

A lovely tortilla smeared with delectable pesto, scattered with grated mozzarella, and topped with thin slices of chicken and tomato.

Over that, spread a mix of soft, sautéed aubergine, onion, courgette, and mushroom. Add a little salt, pepper, and oregano. Stick it in the oven until the cheese melts and the crust gets golden, and you have, in my opinion, a darn good pizza!

…”But, but, it’s all about the crust!” you are probably saying… Well, for an “everyday” pizza, (which I think sounds pretty wonderful) I’m satisfied. And, to be honest, the tortilla did a pretty good job of tricking my tongue anyway, once the bite was out of sight!

Leave a Reply

