Lost in Translation

Standard

My roommate is from Bulgaria. She says that back at home, they eat a salad every day. 

Immediately, I get this picture of a lovely traditional house or caesar salad, but I dutifully ask, “what do you put in it?”

Apparently, it contains cucumbers, tomatoes, salt, and greek/bulgarian yogurt. Huh… Sounds interesting.

So I ask her, “If you teach me to make it, do you want me to teach you to make a salad from my country?” (Thinking of yummy mixed greens, a hand-mixed dressing, some cheese, salmon or chicken, and a handful of dried fruit)

And she says: “Oh! You mean the plate of grass you were eating the other day??”

 

Classic.

 

Leave a Reply

